Ngā Akomanga

We have four main reanga (generations, or classrooms) for learning instruction. These are defined by year groups.

Kaiahipua Yr 0 - 3     

Hoewaka  Yr 3 - 5     

Kaumoana Yr6 - 8     

Kaiurungi Yr9 - 13

At Tuia te Matangi, Wharekura, or secondary level, begins from Yr9. We have however, chosen to cluster our Yr8-10 ākonga to promote a more seamless transition from primary-intermediate academia and advancement. There are certain NCEA1 subjects that our younger wharekura ākonga will have the opportunity to participate in, and this may be either through credit achievement or unit standards.

To cater for our older wharekura ākonga, we maintain relationships with institutions such as the Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (NMIT) Top of the South Trades Academy, Kura Pounamu (Correspondence School), and Te Wānanga o Raukawa. These opportunities include academic achievements such as NCEA1-3, National Certificate level training, and a Diploma in Mātauranga Māori, and the like.